Druid Books from author Ellen Evert Hopman

Synopsis:

A growing collection from author, herbalist and Druid Priestess, Ellen Evert Hopman

If the web resource below is not being displayed as intended by the site's authors, please click on this link to connect to the web resource in a separate window.

Druidic Dawn is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.

Origin: http://www.celticheritage.co.uk/EllenEvertHopman

Ellen Evert Hopman, herbalist, author and Druid Priestess
http://www.celticheritage.co.uk/EllenEvertHopman

PRIESTESS OF THE FOREST
A DRUID JOURNEY

ELLEN EVERT HOPMAN

In the tradition of Marion Zimmer Bradley's Mists of Avalon, Ellen Evert Hopman weaves Druid history and spirituality into an engaging love story.This Bardic teaching tale is set in a fictional third-century Ireland when Christianity is sweep-ing across the Celtic Isles. During this time of crisis, love blooms between Ethne, a Druid healer, and her patient, a Fennid warrior. Their passionate affair suffers a tragic blow when Ethne is called upon to become the high queen.

Told from the Druid perspective, Hopman recreates the daily life, magical practices, politics, and spiritual lives of the ancient Celts during this historic turning point. Druid holy days, rites, rituals, herbal lore, and more are brought to life in this Celtic fantasy-illuminating Druidic teachings and cul-tural wisdom.

Notable Features

A historic fantasy that weaves Druidic teachings into a Celtic tale of love Highlights details from Druidic history - daily life, class system, torcs, triskells, and crafts.Features a glossary of significant Celtic / Druidic terms and aninterview with the author about modern Druid-ism Suggested sources for further study of Druids through-out history, Druid ritual, and modern Druidism
ISBN 978-0-7387-1262-8

US $18.95 CAN $21.95

Trade paperback

6 x 9, 408 pp. (with glossary & epilogue)

Body, Mind, Spirit / Spirituality / Celtic

Available at your favorite local bookstore and online from Amazon.com or Llewellyn Worldwide at www.llewellyn.com

Massachusetts resident Ellen Evert Hopman has been active in American Druidism since 1984. She is co-chief of the Order of the Whiteoak (Ord na Darach Gile), a popular author of Druidry-related titles, and a master herbalist. She teaches at the Grey School of Wizardry and has contributed to several Pagan journals.

PRAISE FOR

ELLEN EVERT HOPMAN'S

PRIESTESS OF THE FOREST
A DRUID JOURNEY

"A fascinating and romantic historical novel rooted in the author's deep knowledge of Celtic Druidism." -Isaac Bonewits, ArchDruid emeritus of Ár nDraíocht Féin (A Druid Fellowship)

"From the very beginning I was drawn into this story and found myself mesmerized by it. It is a tale which rings with sincerity, warmth, color, and depth." -Philip Carr-Gomm, Chosen Chief of the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids

"An authentically human tale of love, hope, and survival. Once I started reading, I was held captive until the very last page."
-Christopher A. LaFond, Druid Harper and Professor of languages, Boston College

"Wisewomen and clever men are in for a treat in this magnificent book; another thread in the re-weaving of our sacred wisdom."
-Susan Weed, Wisewoman, Herbalist, and author.

"A lively tale of ancient Druids and Irish warriors based on substantial research into Celtic history and tradition. While set in a
richly imagined ancient Ireland, Priestess of the Forest: A Druid Journey offers an intriguing vision of a Druid path with lessons to teach the modern world." -John Michael Greer, Grand Archdruid, Ancient Order of Druids in America

Available in February 2008 at your favorite local bookstore and online from Amazon.com or Llewellyn Worldwide at www.llewellyn.com

A Druid's Herbal
of Sacred Tree Medicine

Ellen Evert Hopman

An in-depth look at the history, herbal uses, and spiritual aspects of the sacred trees in the ancient Celtic Ogham Tree Alphabet
. Details the 20 trees of the ogham alphabet and their therapeutic and magical virtues. Examines the Forest Druid practices associated with each tree as well as the traditional uses in Native American medicine. Describes the Celtic Fire Festivals and how each tree is featured in these holy days

The Druids used the ancient Ogham Tree Alphabet to work magic and honor the dead, surrounding each letter with medicinal and spiritual lore. Poets and bards created a secret sign language to describe the letters, each of which is named for a tree or a plant. For centuries this language was transmitted only orally in order to protect its secrets. Combining her extensive herbal knowledge and keen poetic insight, Ellen Evert Hopman delves deeply into the historic allusions and associations of each of the 20 letters of the Ogham Tree Alphabet. She also examines Native American healing methods for possible clues to the way ancient
Europeans may have used these trees as healing agents. Druidic spiritual practices, herbal healing remedies, and plant lore are included for each tree in the alphabet as well as how each is used in traditional rituals such as the Celtic Fire Festivals and other celebrations. Hopman also includes a pronunciation guide for the oghams and information on the divinatory meanings
associated with each tree.

Order at www.InnerTraditions.com or send check or money order payable to Inner Traditions for the total amount of your order, plus $4.50 S/H for one book, $5.50 for two books, FREE SHIPPING for three or more.
Inner Traditions . Bear & Company
One Park Street . P.O. Box 388 . Rochester, VT 05767
Fax to: (802) 767-3726 or call toll-free: 1-800-246-8648

www.InnerTraditions.com

Destiny Books
ISBN-13: 978-1-59477-230-6
$14.95 pb
224 pages, 6 x 9
Revised Edition of People of the Earth

Being a Pagan
Druids, Wiccans, and Witches Today

Ellen Evert Hopman and Lawrence Bond

During the last few decades, millions of people have embraced ancient philosophies that honor Earth and the spiritual power of each individual. In this book, Pagan leaders and teachers describe in their own words what they believe and what they practice.

ISBN-13: 978-0-89281-904-1 . $19.95 pb . 392 pages, 6 x 9

www.InnerTraditions.com

A Druid's Herbal for the
Sacred Earth Year

Ellen Evert Hopman

For the ancient Druids, the healing and magical properties of herbs were inseparable from the larger cycles of the seasons, the movements of the planets, and the progression of a human life.

Ellen Evert Hopman explores the history and folklore surrounding the eight major Celtic festivals and offers complete instructions on the medicinal and magical uses of the herbs associated with each celebration. Included are chapters on how to prepare herbal tinctures, salves, and poultices; herbs used by the Druids; herbal alchemy and the planets; and the relationships between herbs and sacred places.

ISBN-13: 978-0-89281-501-2 . $12.95 pb . 228 pages, 6 x 9

www.InnerTraditions.com

Walking the World in Wonder
A Children's Herbal

Ellen Evert Hopman

Created especially for children ages five to ten years old, this book explores season-by-season the medicinal and magical uses of sixty-seven common herbs. Full-color photographs of each plant help children identify them on walks and field
trips. ISBN-13: 978-0-89281-878-5 . $19.95 pb . 160 pages, 8 x 10 . 67 color photographs

www.Innertraditions.com


Tags:
Druids, trees, books, authors, magic, Druid magic, Druid lore, Druid spirituality, Gods and Goddesses, Herbalism, Fili, Brehons, spells, Paganism
Filed under: